Silicon Valley Transit Users

You are here: > DIY > VTA Board Contacts

Contact the VTA Board Member For Your City or District Here!

Bookmark and Share

Group 1 Cities (San Jose)
Group 2 Cities (Los Altos, Los Altos Hills, Mountain View, Palo Alto, Santa Clara, Sunnyvale)
Group 3 Cities (Campbell, Cupertino, Los Gatos, Monte Sereno, Saratoga)
Group 4 Cities (Milpitas, Morgan Hill, San Martin, and Gilroy)
Group 5 Cities (Santa Clara County Board of Supervisors)

Bookmark and Share


The VTA's Board of Directors sets Santa Clara County's transit and highway policy. The Board has 17 members and 2 ex-officio members, all of whom are elected officials appointed to serve on the VTA Board by the councils of the cities or towns they represent. (In other words, you cannot run for VTA Board, and you cannot vote board members on or off the board.) Fourteen Directors are city council members or mayors of their cities, and three are County Supervisors. Twelve Directors serve as voting members and there are five Directors who serve as alternates. The two ex-officio members are non-voting members and are Santa Clara County's representatives to the Bay Area's regional transit planning and financing agency, the Metropolitan Transportation Commission (MTC).

To assist you in directly expressing your transit needs to the VTA Board member of your city, we also encourage you to attend and speak out for those needs at your city council meeting. Each VTA Board member's contact will also include the address and phone number of their city hall, as well as when your city council meets. City council meetings allow you to speak during the "open comment" or "public presentation" period, typically at the beginning of the meeting. If you know you can't go to a VTA Board meeting or workshop, it is vital that you speak out for your transit needs at your city council meeting. Please contact your city hall for specific rules on speaking out during city council meetings, or if you are disabled and need assistance in speaking out at a city council meeting.

You can reach the entire VTA Board, as well as subscribe to their mailing list of agendas and meeting minutes, at their contact address.

Below are the current members of the VTA Governing Board of Directors by municipality. Note that VTA Board alternates (highlighted in grey) can replace absent members at any Board meeting.  The VTA Board Vice Chair is highlighted in green while this year's Board Chair is highlighted in yellow.

Group 1 Cities (San Jose)

As the county seat and largest city in Santa Clara County, San Jose has five (5) of the twelve (12) VTA Board seats. San Jose's City Council meets every Tuesday afternoon at 1:30 p.m., although certain meeting dates may be canceled. In addition, evening sessions are normally held on the 1st and 3rd Tuesday at 7:00 p.m.

Unless otherwise announced, the meeting place is at the City Council Chambers San Jose City Hall, 200 E. Santa Clara Street in San Jose. Mailing address for all listed council members is 200 E. Santa Clara Street, San Jose, CA 95113.

Name Local Capacity/City/City Council Info Email Address Phone Number
Xavier Campos
City Councilmember, District 5 (East San Jose -  District Five's boundaries extend west to Highway 101, east to the East Foothills, north to Mabury Road, and south to Ocala Avenue) (408)535-4905
Rose Herrera
City Councilmember, District 8 (Evergreen - south of Mt. Hamilton Rd./Martin/Tully, and east of the Guadalupe River)
Ash Kalra City Councilmember, District 2 (Santa Teresa section of San Jose) (408)535-4902
Sam Liccardo
City Councilmember, District 3 (downtown San Jose) (408)535-4903
Nancy Pyle City Councilmember, District 10 (Westfield and Oakridge sections) (408)535-4910
Chuck Reed Mayor of San Jose (408)535-4800

San Jose residents who do not specifically live in districts represented by VTA Board Members should contact the Mayor's Office using the contact information above.

Group 2 Cities (Los Altos, Los Altos Hills, Mountain View, Palo Alto, Santa Clara, Sunnyvale)

Name Local Capacity/City/City Council Info Email Address Phone Number
Margaret Abe-Koga
(VTA Board Chair)
Councilmember, City of Mountain View
535 Castro Street, P. O. Box 7540
Mountain View, CA  94039-7540
(Council meets on the 2nd and 4th Tuesdays, 7:00pm) (650)903-6304
Rich Larsen Mayor Pro Tem, City of Los Altos Hills
26379 Fremont Road, Los Altos Hills
(2nd and 4th Thursdays, 7:00pm)
(650) 941-3160 (650)888-5725
Jamie Matthews (alternate) Mayor, City of Santa Clara
1500 Warburton Ave., Santa Clara
(2nd and 4th Tuesdays, 7:00pm (408)615-2250
Chris Moylan  Councilmember, City of Sunnyvale
456 W. Olive Ave., Sunnyvale
(Tuesdays, 7:00pm, City Council Chambers (650)249-6799

Group 3 Cities (Campbell, Cupertino, Los Gatos, Monte Sereno, Saratoga)

Name Local Capacity/City/City Council Info Email Address Phone Number
Chuck Page  Vice Mayor, City of Saratoga
13777 Fruitvale Ave, Saratoga 95070
(first and third Wednesdays, 6:30pm, Council Chambers)
(408)868-1200 (408)257-9334
Marshall Anstandig Mayor, City of Monte Sereno
18041 Saratoga-Los Gatos Road
Monte Sereno, CA 95030
Phone: (408) 354-7635 (408)354-1002

Residents of Saratoga and Campbell can contact either board member in this group.

Group 4 Cities (Milpitas, Morgan Hill, San Martin, and Gilroy)

Name Local Capacity/City/City Council info Email Address Phone Number
Pete McHugh (alternate) Vice Mayor, City of Milpitas
455 E. Calaveras Boulevard, Milpitas
1st and 3rd Tuesdays, City Council Chambers
(408)586-3001 (408)586-3023
Perry Woodward Councilmember, City of Gilroy
7351 Rosanna St., Gilroy, CA
1st and 3rd Mondays, City Council Chambers (408)891-9204

Group 5 Cities (Santa Clara County Board of Supervisors)

The Santa Clara County Board of Supervisors, unless otherwise noted, meets about every Tuesday at 9:30am at the County Government Center, 70 W. Hedding Street in San Jose. More information on meetings of the County Supervisors can be found on the web or by calling the Board Clerk at (408)299-4321.

Name Cities Represented Email Address Phone Number
Ken Yeager
(VTA Board Vice Chair)
District 4 (Western San Jose, Santa Clara and Campbell) (408)299-5040
Liz Kniss District 5 (Palo Alto, Mountain View, Los Altos, Los Altos Hills, Cupertino, and some of Sunnyvale) (408)299-5050
George Shirakawa (alternate) District 2 (Central San Jose, Willow Glen, East San Jose, and part of Santa Clara) (408)299-5020

Ex-Officio (Non-voting) Board Members

You can find the two non-voting VTA Board Members back at the main Do-It-Yourself (DIY) page. Both non-voting VTA Board members serve as the local representatives to the Bay Area's transit planning and financing group, the Metropolitan Transportation Commission (MTC).

back to main page

Email for more information
or to report problems with our website

Disclaimer: We are NOT affiliated with the Santa Clara Valley Transportation Authority (VTA) in any way whatsoever..