Metropolitan Transportation Commission (MTC)


The Metropolitan Transportation Commission (MTC) is the San Francisco Bay Area’s transportation planning and financing organization. Its office and auditorium in Oakland, near the Lake Merritt BART station, are where decisions regarding Bay Area regional transportation issues are made.

Note that the MTC will move to 375 Beale Street in San Francisco in 2016.

Every few years, Bay Area transit agencies like the Santa Clara Valley Transportation Authority (VTA) must submit their long-term plans for transit and highway projects to the MTC to qualify for and receive state and federal funding.

The MTC also serves as the Bay Area’s Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) for state and federal transportation purposes.

Obtaining Information From the MTC

The following contact information below can be used to get onto the MTC’s mailing list. There, information regarding regional transit issues, and meetings to discuss and approve (or reject) projects is distributed. This is the same information seen by the media and used by Bay Area politicians and transportation staff for making key decisions on how your money is spent on transportation in the Bay Area.

MTC mailing address:

Metropolitan Transportation Commission
Bay Area Metro Center
375 Beale St.
San Francisco, CA 94105

phone (415) 778-6700
fax (415) 778-6757

You can also use this contact to send in your comments regarding Bay Area local and regional transportation issues.

Who Represents Santa Clara County at the MTC?

Currently, three (3) officials represent Santa Clara County as Commissioners at the MTC. Here are who they are, and how to contact them:

  • Dave Cortese (representing Santa Clara County Board Of Supervisors), Santa Clara County Supervisor, District 3. (District includes Milpitas, Sunnyvale, Alviso, portions of northern San Jose, and other “unincorporated” areas of northeastern Santa Clara County.) Email: – phone (408)299-5030.
  • Sam Liccardo (San Jose Mayor’s Appointee), Mayor, City of San Jose. Email: – phone (408)535-4800.
  • Jeannie Bruins, (Representing Cities of Santa Clara County), Mayor, City of Los Altos. Email: – phone (650)947-2720 (note: phone number is for all of Los Altos’ City Council)

These are just three of the 21 commissioners that are the main decision makers at the MTC. Here is a list of all the MTC Commissioners and how to contact them. All MTC Commissioners are appointed public officials. The general public currently cannot run for an MTC Commissioner’s Seat, nor can the general public vote for or recall any MTC Commissioner.

Who Monitors the MTC?

TransFORM and the Transportation Solutions Defense Fund (TRANSDEF) are just two of the independent grassroots organizations that monitor the MTC and its activites.

  2 comments for “Metropolitan Transportation Commission (MTC)

  1. John Cordes
    January 28, 2015 at 11:28 am

    There is a disagreement wrt to your list of MTC reps for Santa Clara county. The list above has
    Joe Pirzynski, Sam Liccardo, and Dave Cortese, The full list
    Representing Cities of Santa Clara County
    Councilmember, City of Campbell


    instead of Joe. which one is correct?

    • Eugene B
      January 29, 2015 at 6:55 am


      This and other lists will be corrected this weekend. Thank you for letting us know.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting a comment, you agree to terms stated in the Site Policy. Please READ and UNDERSTAND our Site Policy before you submit your comment!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.